
This course concerns rescues 
involving confined spaces and 
includes lecture, skills training, and 
scenario-based exercises. The 
class covers federal and state reg-
ulations, use of specialized equip-
ment for atmospheric monitoring, 
commercial entry and retrieval 
systems, and employment of res-
cuer constructed retrieval systems. 
Participants gain understanding 
of confined space hazards and 
the requirements of the new laws. 
Special emphasis will be given to 
rescuer safety, scene manage-
ment, patient care and movement, 
and construction and operation of 
retrieval systems. 

Course adheres to standards 
set forth by NFPA 1006; 1670; 
1500; 1983, and OSHA 29 CFR 
1910.146 and 29 CFR 1910.134. 

Upon successful completion of 
this course, students will be rec-
ommended to take the Confined 
Space Rescue Technician Levels I/
II certification examination offered 
by the Louisiana Firefighter and 
Emergency Responder Certifica-
tion Program. 

It is recommended that students 
attend a Rope Rescue Techni-
cian course before attending this 
course. 

The Confined Space Rescue 
Technician Levels I/II certification 
examination is offered by the Fire-
fighter and Emergency Responder 
Certification Program to the stu-
dents who successfully complete 
the course. This is optional and will 
be given at the conclusion of the 
course.

Certification Process:
Students must be able to pass the 
practical skills assessment given in 
order to take the written exam.

Certification Fees:
There is a separate charge for 
taking the certification exam; it is 
not included in the course fees. 
Details of the certification process 
and examination material can be 
found under the certification tab on 
the main page of the website.

The lower listed cost applies to all 
Louisiana Municipal Fire Departments who 
are issued a Fire Department ID from the 

State Fire Marshal’s Office. 

Course Cost  & Dates Subject to Change

80% attendance and participation 
is required in order to successfully 
complete the course and receive 
the course completion certificate.

Pre-tests and Post-tests may be 
given to assess the knowledge 
obtained from the course.

Confined Space 
Rescue Technician 

Hours Cost

40 $400/$975
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